Will He be Happy?

13 06 2013

Kiff Zee (Left) Dan Joe (Center) Rod Vincent (Right)

This is the question that has been asked by one of our youngest students when I asked him to show his worksheet to one of the teachers here in our school. Although my title refers to God, the question of this young boy was referring to my wife who was at that time present in the school.

You see, Dan Joe is not just your average young boy. He’s got a sharp and inquisitive mind too inquisitive that whenever he hears something new he would definitely try it out. He is also a smart kid which is evident not just in school but at their home as well.

However, one of the downside of his being too smart is that he gets bored easily. He’s often times too lazy to do his worksheet thus you need to remind him or sit with him the entire time to him from time to time  in order to finish his task.

Yesterday was different, after I handed to him his task he actually got right into it and finished it way even before lunch time. A boy is a boy and he is not concern on how his handwriting is going to look, all he wanted was to finish his task way ahead of everybody, so you can expect that it was not really that good.

Anyway, after lunch break everyone went to their usual stuff, playing, chatting and teasing each other. I was thinking of not letting him go up into the learning room anymore and just let him take his afternoon nap right away since I know that he will not be doing anything  but just bother his classmates or make those funny noises or even sing in his office…he’s a handful you know and believe you me he just don’t listen to anybody except to me and my wife and that has been proven in the next part of this post that I am going to tell you.

So, everyone was already upstairs and he was left behind. When my wife asked him if he has finished his task he said “Yes” excitedly. My wife told him to  get his worksheet and show it to her, so he went upstairs screaming “It’s TIME!!!” (We don’t have a ring bell).  I was expecting him to go down right away but it was taking him a bit too long so I went upstairs to check out not just him but the rest of the students and there I saw him sitting down and doing something on his worksheet. So I approached him and asked him, “Didn’t Teacher Sally tell you to go down and show your work to her?” DanJoe looked at me straight into the eyes and there was certain hesitation on him. Then I asked him if he’s finished with his task and he said yes. So, I said what are you waiting for, go downstairs and don’t let teacher Sally wait for you or else she’ll get angry. It was then that he asked this question, “Will she be happy?” I said yes, she’ll be happy to see your work.

He clutched his worksheet in his hands held it firmly and head to the door, so I went back checking on the other students. After several minutes I could hear one of our students telling Dan Joe to go down and I saw him standing next to the door. When he was told to go down  he head once more to the door and actually went out and goes straight to the stairs but he still didn’t go down the stairs. So, I went to him and led him downstairs and while we were going down he asked me again seeking for an assurance…”Are you sure she will be happy?”

Such a question pricked me and the kind of desire that Dan Joe have to make sure that the moment he presents his work that his teacher will be pleased at what he has done for the day. Such situation I have asked in my life is God or will God be happy with me when the time come that I will face Him and present at His feet all the things that I’ve done in this world? Will He be proud of me and will I be worthy of any rewards from Him knowing that I haven’t done much for Him?

What have I done for Him that is worthy of praise or any rewards for that matter? Is my life worthy to even be blessed knowing that most of the time I only thought of myself rather than doing the things that pleases Him? Have we even asked that question? Same question to ourselves if God is happy with our lives or is He happy with the kind of life that we are living today?

Will He, my God be pleased if He sees my achievement at the end of my day? Such question can only be answered by each one of us personally.

Colossians 3:1-4

1 If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God.

2 Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.

3 For ye are dead, and your life is hid with Christ in God.

4 When Christ, [who is] our life, shall appear, then shall ye also appear with him in glory.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

