Responsibility Outweighs Opportunities

28 05 2013

lord-take-my-hand-and-lead-me-500When I was still new here in Thailand, I was so bored that I persisted in praying to God that He will give me something to do. At first my attention were diverted into earning a  living since most of the Filipinos I met here in Nonthaburi are working. I tried doing that to the extent of doing something which I know was wrong. I indeed got a very short shot at it, I was able to teach but in just a so short period. I didn’t have  a problem with the school neither did the school had a problem with me. They even wanted me to stay but unfortunately the agency doesn’t want it to happen. So, it never did happen, I later on realized that God’s plan was entirely different as to what I have in mind as He said in the book of Isaiah 55:8-9 KJV…

8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.

9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

So, after a couple of years of waiting for God’s plan to manifest in my life it finally came to us 2 years ago. He entrusted to us a ministry that I never dream would be possible especially that we are actually foreigners here in Thailand. God let us open an ACE school ministry, at first we were a bit uncertain since there were so many struggles that we have gone through. However, despite of all the challenges and problems we continued to tread the path that God has lead us. It was then that my family saw God’s goodness and hands in showing us His abundant blessings if we only do His will. I started to be involved in our church activities and ministries alongside with the school. We’ve struggled financially and personally but God was always there to lift us up even when those people whom we trusted turned their backs on us.

Today, my heart and soul is in the ministry that God has entrusted to me there are even times that the thought of leaving such ministry scares me. I can’t understand why i felt that way but God showed me the answer to it. He put me to the test by offering me irresistible opportunities that I would desperately grab if it had been offered to me 2 years ago.  I tried to find a way to work it out but my mind kept on bothering me and the thought of not being able to fulfill my commitment to the people that trusted me bothered me. Here it is two opportunities that offers financial sustenance especially that another member of the family is on its way. The more that such worldly matters pressure me the more that the spirit tells me and asked me this question over and over again. “Did God ever abandon you in good times and bad times all these years?”

That question always leads me back to my senses knowing that for several times God literally showed how He works in our lives, i may not earn as much as some of the Filipinos that are here. but one thing is sure, I am content, satisfied and have that peace of mind that some of these people doesn’t have. most importantly i have my God who I can rely on come what may. Does with boldness and with God’s grace and wisdom I was able to resist and turn down the two opportunities and I also hope and pray that god will continue to strengthen me to resist any opportunities that are still on its way. For me the RESPONSIBILITY that God has entrusted to me outweighs all of the opportunities that this world has to offer, after all our Lord Jesus Christ Himself said this in Matthew 6:33 “But seek YE first the kingdom of God, and all THESE THINGS shall be added unto you.” that promise is good enough for me to hang onto.

My decisions may sound stupid and irrational, but i know that this is what God wants me to do and this is what was God’s plan for me and my family that is why He lead us into Thailand.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

